3 comments on “Pulling It Off

  1. Very good approach. I really like the process of how you rehearse your presentations. I also like the fact and your truthfulness of not rehearsal the day of the event. So true because the presentation can come off as being staged (like in a play) which is NOT what you want to do.

    I have a couple of additional considerations you may want to try.

    When I give workshops on presentations I discuss practice and rehearsal. You indicated a “dress” rehearsal. You state “Dress rehearsal means prepping my laptop…I run the presentation exactly as I would before the group with presenter view disabled and the laptop screen off to send the maximum amount of graphics power through the projector.

    I would add, and perhaps you do, to dress up according to how you will present. That is, if it is a formal event, dress up in a tux (if that’s how you will present) or a business suit, etc. even if you are rehearsing at home.

    In my workshops, I also stress to practice (rehearse) without visual aids (PowerPoint, etc.). You mentioned that the audience is “forgiving of equipment failures but not of speaking failures. If you haven’t practiced without visual aids, then your speech delivery may diminish.

    Likewise, and I didn’t see you mention it, a presenter should have a backup. Of course extra accessories such as a power cord, projector bulb, mouse, etc., but you should have a printed copy of your PP slides to hand out in case of an equipment failure.

    You also mentioned how you formulate your speech which is also good. However, what I suggest in my workshops is to begin with the conclusion, i.e. what do you want the audience to leave with — what is the call to action. Then, develop your speech (as you do) leaving in all the information which supports your conclusion and throw out all the information which do not relate to or does not support the conclusion.

    You said “It seems I almost always go 5% longer than the time allotted or the time in rehearsal. Usually it is because I get comfortable with my audience and find little ways to include them in my experiences that might be part of unrehearsed by not unrelated personal anecdotes.”

    Many speakers who compete in the Toastmasters (www.toastmasters.org) speech contests generally do not take into account the responses of the audience, thus they go overtime. I might suggest that in preparing your speech and limit your time. That is, if you are giving a 50 minute presentation, prepare your speech for only 40 or 45 minutes, thus you will not go over. The audience (and speakers if there are speakers after your presentation) will be more forgiving by being short 5 minutes rather than going over 5 minutes .

    I’m sure you do well. More presenters, including some professional speakers, should follow your guidelines.

  2. Pingback: Breaking Murphy’s Law » Blog Archive » The Weekly Might Have Missed List (09/14/08)

  3. Pingback: Secrets of Presentation Success « Fleeting Glimpse Images Weblog

Leave a Reply

