17 comments on “Copyright: Claim Your Images

  1. Great, informative post, Rikk. I certainly didn’t know about Zoom Browser EX.

    A couple of things:

    1) I assume that you are assuming that photographers already add a visible ‘watermark’ to images on sites?

    2) From the other point of view, I have found it frustrating to find a photo online that I’d like to ask permission to use, but the owner hasn’t left a way to contact them to ask. You are left with the dilemma of the prospect of spending more time trying and track them down or finding something else that is suitable – or disrespecting the copyright. My point is that owners shouldn’t give people the excuse to do the latter.

    • To your number 1: I don’t assume a visible watermark. I used to be a proponent of watermarking but now do not do it at all. Any image that circulates on the web is, by my design, too small to be of practical use. It can’t make a 4×6 print with any quality and it won’t fill a screen without gross degradation. I do put a copyright notice on the pics but I make it small so that the image can be evaluated for use or purchase. I can’t sell an image my client can’t see clearly.

      2. A copyright notice in metadata and unobtrusively on the image itself go a long way toward identifying the photographer. There are many tools on the internet today to help you find images that match a particular image. Take a look at TinEye (still in beta) and similar tools. Your point is well taken: Give the people a path to you so they will and can do the right thing.

  2. Cheers, and thanks for the TinEye reference.

    It’s OK to let images be downloaded easily if one has taken the trouble to downsize them, but I suspect that many people don’t bother and upload their high res versions. Ah! The things one has to watch out for!

  3. A couple of quick notes:

    Mac Users can access the Copyright © symbol by hitting Option G on their keyboard. Windows users can type in ALT 0169 or use the Character Map tool in windows to cut and paste the character into place.

    I have had a few reports of folks who can’t get the Canon software to accept a copyright symbol. Apparently this is a symptom of using the latest software. If you have an older disk, EOS tool versions prior to 2.0 should work. Install the utility in a temporary folder and use it to set your name field. Afterwards, you can uninstall it and the 2.X version of the EOS utility will recognize your copyright symbol-though you won’t be able to edit it!

    Rikk

  4. Pingback: Out of the Box « Fleeting Glimpse Images Weblog

  5. any thoughts on Nikon dslr’s?

    I am timid about messing with the camera software and have been adding copyright info in Lightroom only.

    Thanks

    • Nikon, depending on the model has the ability to do this through software as well. If memory serves, it places the copyright notice into a Comment field in the Metadata and not the Owner, Author or Copyright field. As long as you are diligent on import into Lightroom, you are ahead of the curve.

  6. In Lightroom, you can set up presets so that on import, all files are given the appropriate credits in the Metadata. I do this for every batch of files I process. Since your name, copyright info etc don’t change frequently, it’s easy to store a “default” preset for use upon import. That way, you won’t forget to claim your images!

  7. Pingback: Fleeting Glimpse Images Blog: The First 100 Posts « Fleeting Glimpse Images Weblog

  8. Pingback: 2010: Remember to Reset Your Copyright Date « Fleeting Glimpse Images Weblog

  9. Pingback: Copyrighting Your Photos | Pafos Photos

  10. I hate every one take my photo sell it in his website. One of the example is my e commerce website. I use my own picture, than every my competitor take my photo. Even though i have made a watermark in my picture , they still download and published to their website.

Leave a Reply

